Friday, January 29, 2010

Webcomic Round-Up

Gene asked me what webcomics I was reading, so I pulled the list from my reader-- there are a few that I used to read that either lost me (Superosity) or vanished (Elf Only Inn). But this should be a fairly complete record with a few obvious ones left out. I've put an asterisk at the end of of the ones I really think are worth going through the complete archives for.

Achewood (http://achewood.com/)An acquired taste for some-- for a bit I'll be just going along with the strip and then he punches me between the eyes.

Basic Instructions (http://basicinstructions.net/) Sometimes funny, but usually falls in the middle for me.

Bear and Kitten (http://www.south20th.com/) Often odd, but usually amusing.

Beaver and Steve (http://www.beaverandsteve.com/) No longer in publication, but has some great stuff in the archives.

Bigger than Cheeses
(http://www.biggercheese.com/) No idea why I read this, except that it is absurd.

Daily Dinosaur Comics (http://www.qwantz.com/index.php) An acquired taste.

Daisy Owl (http://www.daisyowl.com/) One of my favorites, low-key but quite funny.(*)

Diesel Sweeties (http://www.dieselsweeties.com/) I run hot and cold on this one.

Digital Pimp Online (www.digitalpimponline.com) Home of Joe Loves Crappy Movies and a couple of others. He has an interesting style, but updates infrequently.

Evil, Inc (www.evil-comic.com) Very classic. I really only keep it in my feed because it is such a quick read each day.

Hark, A Vagrant (http://www.harkavagrant.com/) Consistently the funniest comic I read. (*)

Instant Classic (http://www.instantclassic.net/) Not sold on this-- it went off for a time and then came back. overly convoluted story.

Overcompensating (http://overcompensating.com/)Usually quite funny.

Multiplex (www.multiplexcomic.com) Has pulled the drama tag a couple of times, but overall I really like this comic for the characters and setting.

Nukees (http://www.nukees.com/) Smart and odd-- has been going for a long, long time. A more classic strip.

Octopus Pie (http://www.octopuspie.com/) Interesting, but I sometimes skip episodes of this. Probably will drop out of my cycle eventually.

Order of the Stick (www.giantitp.com/comics) Used to be quite funny, but now seems like a lot of work to get through.

Penny Arcade (http://www.penny-arcade.com/) Come for the comic, stay for the text.

The Princess Planet (http://www.theprincessplanet.com/) Absolutely worth going through the archives. (*)

Questionable Content (http://questionablecontent.net/) Still a fav, almost entirely based on the characters.

Rob and Elliot (http://www.robandelliot.cycomics.com/) Had some funny moments, but updates infrequently now and often isn't that great.

Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal (http://www.smbc-comics.com/) Has some misses, but generally the comic that makes me laugh more than any other. (*)

Shortpacked (www.shortpacked.com) I run hot and cold on this one.

Snowflakes (http://www.snowflakescomic.com/) Still trying to figure out if this is worth reading-- they have two plotlines going on right now and it kind of dilutes the effect. It is school-based so that makes me keep reading it.

Something Positive (http://www.somethingpositive.net/) A comic you love or hate based on your love of extended character stories.

Wasted Talent (http://www.wastedtalent.ca/) A recent addition-- interesting to see how her style has evolved through the archives.

The Non-Adventures of Wonderella (http://nonadventures.com/) Often wrong, but awesome at the same time. This comic (http://nonadventures.com/2007/10/06/gator-aid/) is one of my all-time favorites. (*)

Wondermark (http://wondermark.com/) I usually enjoy this and he often has some oddball additional material on this site.

XKCD (http://xkcd.com/)Make me a sandwich.